Countdown to the New Year

By Jin-yeong Yi

The Russian rocket scientist and Cosmist thinker Konstantin Tsiolkovsky once said, “The Earth is the cradle of humanity, but mankind cannot stay in the cradle forever.” As inspiring as this quote is, I think the true cradle of humanity is the real world as a whole. The real world is all cradle no matter where you are within it, whether on Earth or Mars or another galaxy.

In contrast, every inch of the dream world is permeated with wonder. It hardly matters where you are or what you are doing when you are inside of your own universe and conscious of it. The ordinary becomes extraordinary, and the extraordinary becomes magical.

Sadly, we can enter the dream world for only an hour at most each day. The rest is spent in the prison of the real. I not only acknowledge this fact, but I intend to make the best of it. That’s partly why I named this blog “The Practical Dreamer”: I aspire to be someone who has his head in the clouds with both feet firmly on the ground, someone who knows how to divide his time between two worlds–the world imposed upon me, and the world that I fashion for myself.

The year 2013 rapidly approaches. There’s no telling what will happen in the coming weeks and months. All I can say is that, as long as I’m in the prison of the real world, I intend to be productive and, of course, practical. I am determined to use my time wisely, to have my act together like I’ve never had it before, and to pursue my goals like I’ve never pursued them before. Because it is always now or never.

Leave a Reply

