The Freedom of Nothingness

By Jin-yeong Yi

Tasting the forbidden fruit

“Fix reason firmly in her seat, and call to her tribunal every fact, every opinion. Question with boldness even the existence of a God; because if there be one, he must more approve of the homage of reason than that of blindfolded fear.”

—Thomas Jefferson

Atheistic nihilism isn’t all sunshine and rainbows. Well, actually, it is objectively neither good nor bad, because according to nihilism, nothing is objectively good or bad. So trying to “sell” this viewpoint in the marketplace of ideas is pretty much a lost cause from the beginning. And I don’t think I would have it any other way; I like the idea that atheistic nihilism is territory that angels fear to tread.

Still, the question is worth addressing: “What’s so great about having no intrinsic meaning or purpose to life?”

Well, one advantage that the nihilist has, depending on how you look at it, is the fact that he can afford to get his hands dirty. Liberation from religion, liberation from my beliefs about sin and morality in particular, left me free to explore avenues of the mind and soul that I had hitherto never dreamed of exploring: the penetralia of science, of religion, of philosophy, of the occult, of sexuality. Of Life itself.

No longer am I bound by anything, except the limitations of my intellectual equipment and how far I dare to go. The forbidden fruit of knowledge is mine for the picking.

Voivod – “Technocratic Manipulators”

I’ve passed the entry of the system
They taught me with an anthem
It seems like I’m one of them
A kind of people I can’t describe
They got a number between their eyes
Identity has been commanded
Subconscious has recorded
The orders from the big head
I’m now a part of this machine
Supervised by the telescreen
That’s not for me, too much for me
That’s all for me
And they’re going nowhere
To find better somewhere
But can’t get out of there
During the night my soul is hearing
Usual advertising
Message that I’m still learning
One thousand times it’s a routine
Should be enough to fall asleep
That’s not for me, too much for me
That’s all for me
And they’re going nowhere
To find better somewhere
But can’t get out of there
Is it the same message
For the preconceived children ?
Let me know, before I go…
Death of their liberty
Feeds the supremacy
Under hypnosis I take a walk
Controlled people have to stop
Robotic voice starts to talk
Why we must be listening
I think we all had the same dreams
And they’re going nowhere
To find better somewhere
But can’t get out of there
I’d rather think
But there’s something strong
I’d rather think
But there’s something wrong
I’d rather think (6)
I’d rather think
Coz my mind despairs
I’d rather think
Coz I can’t live there
I’d rather think…think !

Leave a Reply

